Over the course of the past few decades, we as a Country, and we as parents have failed our children miserably. We haven't taught them about consequences. We haven's shown them that when they screw up, there's a price to be paid. If a kid wears an offensive shirt to school, and the teachers make him take it off, he cries and whines to mommy and she calls the principal demanding immediate action be taken against the damn teacher. And guess what folks, because the principal doesn't want to get reprimanded by the school board, the principal backs off, punishes the teacher by putting them on leave and little dumb-ass Johnny gets away with not following the rules. Pretty soon, every kid is acting like this and we have created bedlam in our school system. (sound familiar teachers?)
We haven't demonstrated to them, or let them experience that failure is often-times painful. It starts out when our kids are 4 years old learning to ride a bike. We put helmets, knee pad, elbow pads, butt pad, mouth guards, leather biker gear, and just about any other safety device we can find on them. Then we run with them for miles and miles, never taking our hand off the seat, just so little Jenny won't feel scared. When they finally break free, go about 15 feet on their own, and fall over, mommy's right there to take them to the hospital because we fear they might have serious brain trauma from the 14" fall. Or when our 15 year old son gets dumped by his girlfriend. Instead of talking to him, consoling him and letting him have some time to get over it, we organize a party, invite 15 of his friends over for pizza and go to the movies to help him get his mind over it. Geez.
It's the high-school athlete, who makes a mistake in a game and gets pulled out. Dad goes ballistic, in the gymnasium, yelling at the coaches, yelling at the refs, call's the athletic director the next day screaming at him. It's the high-school basketball player who stares at the ref after he gets called for a foul, shaking his head. It's the trombone player who doesn't practice, so he get's moved to 4th chair, and instead of working hard, quits the band. And we let him.
We, as a society, can stand around, or sit around (whichever is your preference), and blame the president, congress, the catholic church, the police, the farmers, the industrialists, the teachers, the system, the immigrants, the ex-pats, the athletes, the artists, your mother in law, or whatever is convenient to blame at the time. But instead of doing that, why don't you do something more productive? Go look in the mirror and point a finger at the person to blame. That's right. Everyone in this country holds some blame of some sort. And if you disagree, that's fine, I hold some blame. (and I don't really care anyway)
We have forgotten what it's like to live in this country and be able to have an intelligent conversation with someone with a differing opinion. Hell, even an un-intelligent conversation would be better than the crap we have now! I can walk out on the street right now and tell somebody that the sky's blue, and immediately I get a lecture on how it's not exactly blue, but more of a deep cerulean. (I don't even know what cerulean is, I just know I saw it in a crayola pack) You know why I don't talk politics? Because I don't want to always be wrong. And I don't want to always be arguing. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of things I'd like to talk about. But for the most part, I'd rather keep my friends, and ignore the politics. Because IT'S NOT WORTH IT! Either side you're on, you are so entrenched in the ideology, you can't even begin to open your eyes long enough to see some blue sky. (or cerulean as it might be). I could offer a left wing zealot a million dollars, and tell them it came from Trump and they'd refuse it. I could offer a right wing zealot a million dollars and tell them that Nancy Pelosi wished them well, and they'd light the money on fire.
It's not the politicians folks. All they're doing is spitting out whatever they think we want to hear, and whatever get's them votes. It's all of us. We have let the political system in this country take over. We have effective politicized every issue possible. Gun control? check. Immigration? check. Public school? check. Medical care? check. Hunting? check. fishing? check. Construction? check. Transportation? check. Farming? check. You get it, every possible thing, the government has politicized. If we could somehow come together, stop spitting out bullshit and venom at each other, and have rational, morally and ethically based conversations about the needs of the country, maybe we could get something done. But so far, all we're doing is hurting ourselves. and our families. And our Country.
And another thing, neither side is perfect. There. I said it. Both sides of all this crap are to blame for this condition. Nobody is right all the time. (I mean, I might be the exception, but the spousal unit would probably disagree) Whether you're democrat, republican, libertarian, black, white, brown, red, yellow, orange, blue, green or rainbow, pull your head out of your ass long enough to give a damn about this Country.
Turn off the tv. Get off of Twitter. Turn Facebook off for a while. Go outside. Have a conversation with someone. If they have a differing view, listen to their points. Ask them to listen to yours. It can't hurt.
And if they don't, well, sometimes, you just can't fix stupid!
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Hi kiddo's! Welcome to Johnny's fun-house! Seems there's a little unbridled aggression running rampant in the country today. But first, a gentle reminder about something...I don't represent either side in this fight. I don't even fully know what people are fighting to be honest with you. I do, however believe it's probably the same old crap! And one more reminder...If you are easily offended, or sensitive to words, please read on, because I DON"T CARE!
Here's something I do care about. Why in the hell are the politicians still getting paid if the government is shut down? If you ask me, It should have been shut down long ago. Since when did serving in the Congress become a full time job for life? It was designed for people to serve a term or two for their COUNTRY'S benefit. Not to line their pockets and have a pension for life. And for members of Congress to go on vacation while government employees aren't getting paid? Look up the definition of bullshit in the dictionary, and that's it! And if the government is shut down, why are some people still working and getting paid and others aren't? Doesn't SHUT DOWN mean SHUT DOWN anymore? And I would like to interject that currently, around 100 Senators and Congressmen/women have asked not to be paid their salary or are donating their salary to charities. Let's find out who that 100 is and keep them. The rest of them, let's send to Iraq.
Now don't get me wrong. There are plenty of government agencies that I wouldn't mind seeing shut down, (IRS comes to mind), but to call it a shutdown and then nothing really happen except a bunch of people not getting paychecks is ridiculous. Call it a break. Call it a time out. Call it what it is, a load of crap. I don't really even know what all the reasons are for the "shut down", but I do know the big one is the border wall. Let me tell you something folks, I live in Texas, and we need the wall. Almost daily I hear from friends on the border or I read an article about illegal immigrants crossing and destroying everything in their path. It wasn't always this way. Used to be, a group would stop by and rake leaves or hoe our garden in exchange for a good meal, water and good luck wishes. Times have changed and we must change with them.
Let me remind you that this isn't like Germany, just deciding to build a wall through the middle of their country. Or Korea, who because of the Russians and the Americans decided that the 38th parallel would now divide the country and make it 2. We are a sovereign nation trying to protect out citizens. At least we should be. I'm begging the assholes in Congress to stop bickering like 5 year old kids. Pull up your panties, roll up your sleeves and get to work. You're still getting paid to work, now do it dammit! The only people you're hurting are the people. The federal government budget for fiscal year 2018 was $4.1 TRILLION. 4.1 trillion, which equals a DEFICIT of $793 BILLION. And you're bitching about $5 billion? Let's put this into perspective. If you had $825 in your pocket, and somebody said they could provide border security and protection if you gave them $1, would you? And let's keep in mind that 54,000 border patrol agents aren't getting paid.
Okay, I'll stop ranting. On the bright side, I still have plenty of roofers!
Do me a favor. Stop watching the news. There are no news agencies that are unbiased in my opinion. And stop believing all the crap on the internet! Contrary to popular belief, everything on the internet is not in fact, FACT! (if it was, I'd be rich, know how to flip houses, have NASA grade pots and pans, have a full head of hair, know the one stock I can buy for $7 that will make me a millionaire, and be sponsoring 19 kids in Kenya and 37 dogs) Get a grip people! There are 2 sides of every coin and 2 sides of every argument.
Here's something I do care about. Why in the hell are the politicians still getting paid if the government is shut down? If you ask me, It should have been shut down long ago. Since when did serving in the Congress become a full time job for life? It was designed for people to serve a term or two for their COUNTRY'S benefit. Not to line their pockets and have a pension for life. And for members of Congress to go on vacation while government employees aren't getting paid? Look up the definition of bullshit in the dictionary, and that's it! And if the government is shut down, why are some people still working and getting paid and others aren't? Doesn't SHUT DOWN mean SHUT DOWN anymore? And I would like to interject that currently, around 100 Senators and Congressmen/women have asked not to be paid their salary or are donating their salary to charities. Let's find out who that 100 is and keep them. The rest of them, let's send to Iraq.
Now don't get me wrong. There are plenty of government agencies that I wouldn't mind seeing shut down, (IRS comes to mind), but to call it a shutdown and then nothing really happen except a bunch of people not getting paychecks is ridiculous. Call it a break. Call it a time out. Call it what it is, a load of crap. I don't really even know what all the reasons are for the "shut down", but I do know the big one is the border wall. Let me tell you something folks, I live in Texas, and we need the wall. Almost daily I hear from friends on the border or I read an article about illegal immigrants crossing and destroying everything in their path. It wasn't always this way. Used to be, a group would stop by and rake leaves or hoe our garden in exchange for a good meal, water and good luck wishes. Times have changed and we must change with them.
Let me remind you that this isn't like Germany, just deciding to build a wall through the middle of their country. Or Korea, who because of the Russians and the Americans decided that the 38th parallel would now divide the country and make it 2. We are a sovereign nation trying to protect out citizens. At least we should be. I'm begging the assholes in Congress to stop bickering like 5 year old kids. Pull up your panties, roll up your sleeves and get to work. You're still getting paid to work, now do it dammit! The only people you're hurting are the people. The federal government budget for fiscal year 2018 was $4.1 TRILLION. 4.1 trillion, which equals a DEFICIT of $793 BILLION. And you're bitching about $5 billion? Let's put this into perspective. If you had $825 in your pocket, and somebody said they could provide border security and protection if you gave them $1, would you? And let's keep in mind that 54,000 border patrol agents aren't getting paid.
Okay, I'll stop ranting. On the bright side, I still have plenty of roofers!
Do me a favor. Stop watching the news. There are no news agencies that are unbiased in my opinion. And stop believing all the crap on the internet! Contrary to popular belief, everything on the internet is not in fact, FACT! (if it was, I'd be rich, know how to flip houses, have NASA grade pots and pans, have a full head of hair, know the one stock I can buy for $7 that will make me a millionaire, and be sponsoring 19 kids in Kenya and 37 dogs) Get a grip people! There are 2 sides of every coin and 2 sides of every argument.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)