Don't know if anybody realizes this, but the first presidential debate of the 2016 election cycle occurred last night. And while I don't know who won, I know who lost.
I thought the object of the debates was to flesh out the platforms of the candidates, and to fill in the gaps between soundbites. They all throw out great suggestions during the campaign, but I thought we would get details during the debates. All we got was vague talk, accusatory statements, eye rolling, fake smiling, and interrupting. Neither one of them could answer a question to save their lives. All they do is talk in hyperbole and sarcasm. (ha, I fit hyperbole into casual conversation!)
Both candidates seem to me to be about as useful
Based on just the facts that have been presented during the campaign, including the debate last night, I would find it amazing that any person in this country could come up with a good enough reason to vote for either one of these ass-clowns. Both have plenty enough baggage to convince anyone NOT to vote for them. I understand the whole party loyalty thing, I really do. But I also find it hard to believe that out of a country with a population of 319 million people, these are the 2 most qualified!
What really perplexes me are the supporters of these people. You can't even have a casual conversation with either side because they all act like rabid dogs. You can't honestly tell me that you really believe that if either one of them gets elected, the country is going to implode. Can you? That the end of times will occur? The dogs will start living with cats? The cows will eat humans instead of vice versa? I'll grow hair? Face the facts. None of these things are going to occur. (which is a damn shame about the hair thing) I have honestly tried to ask people why they are so strongly supportive of 1 candidate, or so vehemently opposed to 1 candidate. It's impossible. As soon as you ask the question, the blood pressure goes up, the face turns red, spit starts flying as they speak, and all they can do is give reasons why they hate the opposing candidate. And hate is not too harsh of a word.
It would seem to me that what should be happening is people having open, honest dialogue with one another. Let's talk about the issues that need to be addressed. How about ISIS? How about the economy? How about National defense? How about health care?
And as a side note, let's talk about health care. I'm not sure why, if this affordable care act is supposed to be such a great deal for every American, my health insurance rates have MORE THAN DOUBLED in the last 3 years. Yes, you read that right. MORE THAN DOUBLED! And we are facing another 27% increase this December! Apparently it's supposed to be good for every American except 'ol Johnny Boy!
I want to see the candidates tell me exactly why I should vote for them. I don't want to hear the bullshit sound bites. I want to know the details of exactly how they are planning on pulling off the things they are promising me. I don't want to hear "believe me". I don't want to hear about how great the last "x" years have been with you involved with the current administration.
And for God's sake, please start acting like grown-ups. Both of them are acting like petulant children.(hyperbole and petulant in the same blog! WOW!) You both talk about how better prepared you are than the other. How much better your temperament is for the job. How much more experience you have. It's time for the rubber to meet the road. Stop the crap. Act Presidential.
So, no, I don't know who won the debate last night. But I know who lost. America!
No comments:
Post a Comment