Don't know if anybody realizes this, but the first presidential debate of the 2016 election cycle occurred last night. And while I don't know who won, I know who lost.
I thought the object of the debates was to flesh out the platforms of the candidates, and to fill in the gaps between soundbites. They all throw out great suggestions during the campaign, but I thought we would get details during the debates. All we got was vague talk, accusatory statements, eye rolling, fake smiling, and interrupting. Neither one of them could answer a question to save their lives. All they do is talk in hyperbole and sarcasm. (ha, I fit hyperbole into casual conversation!)
Both candidates seem to me to be about as useful
Based on just the facts that have been presented during the campaign, including the debate last night, I would find it amazing that any person in this country could come up with a good enough reason to vote for either one of these ass-clowns. Both have plenty enough baggage to convince anyone NOT to vote for them. I understand the whole party loyalty thing, I really do. But I also find it hard to believe that out of a country with a population of 319 million people, these are the 2 most qualified!
What really perplexes me are the supporters of these people. You can't even have a casual conversation with either side because they all act like rabid dogs. You can't honestly tell me that you really believe that if either one of them gets elected, the country is going to implode. Can you? That the end of times will occur? The dogs will start living with cats? The cows will eat humans instead of vice versa? I'll grow hair? Face the facts. None of these things are going to occur. (which is a damn shame about the hair thing) I have honestly tried to ask people why they are so strongly supportive of 1 candidate, or so vehemently opposed to 1 candidate. It's impossible. As soon as you ask the question, the blood pressure goes up, the face turns red, spit starts flying as they speak, and all they can do is give reasons why they hate the opposing candidate. And hate is not too harsh of a word.
It would seem to me that what should be happening is people having open, honest dialogue with one another. Let's talk about the issues that need to be addressed. How about ISIS? How about the economy? How about National defense? How about health care?
And as a side note, let's talk about health care. I'm not sure why, if this affordable care act is supposed to be such a great deal for every American, my health insurance rates have MORE THAN DOUBLED in the last 3 years. Yes, you read that right. MORE THAN DOUBLED! And we are facing another 27% increase this December! Apparently it's supposed to be good for every American except 'ol Johnny Boy!
I want to see the candidates tell me exactly why I should vote for them. I don't want to hear the bullshit sound bites. I want to know the details of exactly how they are planning on pulling off the things they are promising me. I don't want to hear "believe me". I don't want to hear about how great the last "x" years have been with you involved with the current administration.
And for God's sake, please start acting like grown-ups. Both of them are acting like petulant children.(hyperbole and petulant in the same blog! WOW!) You both talk about how better prepared you are than the other. How much better your temperament is for the job. How much more experience you have. It's time for the rubber to meet the road. Stop the crap. Act Presidential.
So, no, I don't know who won the debate last night. But I know who lost. America!
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Well, here I go again!
I just watched a video that disgusted me. I mean, actually I watched 2 videos that disgusted me, but this one isn't about the giant zit popping. It's about all the political proponents of one side of our 2-sided political system getting the crap beat out of them when they attend a rally in favor of their candidate. Okay, I'll stop with the political correctness, that was about all I had in me anyway.
The video I watched was about Donald Trump supporters getting hit, spit on, sprayed with pepper spray, and their cars getting destroyed. Seriously. Just for putting their confidence and faith in somebody that probably doesn't deserve it anyway. Whatever happened to peaceful protests? Meaningful discourse? Respectful debate? Somebodys opinion is different than your own, so instead of listening to what they have to say, or just walking away and ignoring them, you throw things at them? Blind-side punch them? Ridiculous.
I also like how in almost every instance on this clip, the people doing the attacking had their faces covered. So, not only are they bullies and whiney asses, they're cowards! And it's never in a one-on-one setting. It's always with a mob of people behind them. Just a wild-assed guess here, but I bet they have to have the mob with them because they get winded when they have to pick up their cell phone. They always look like a bunch of panty-waste little dorks anyway.
Now, don't get me wrong, I don't think EITHER candidate deserves your vote this election. In my lifetime, I have never witnessed the level of depravity that has been reached during this election cycle. The entire Country has gone to hell, and nobody seems to want to do a damn thing about it. If I was a candidate, and I heard reports about supporters of mine doing cowardly acts such as this, I would make some kind of announcement asking my supporters to act like human beings, not a pack of coyotes. Doesn't mean it's going to stop it, but by not speaking out, you're condoning it.
For that matter, where is our President? Shouldn't he be on the airwaves every night telling the American populace that they are a bunch of entitled little dirt bags for acting in such a manner? Where has he been on the violence against police officers? The violence BY police officers? Just my opinion here, but I believe the current administration has set race relations back 40 years or more in this Country. He has done nothing to calm the huddled masses. Instead, by doing nothing, he has invoked fear. Fear ofterrorism random acts of violence. Fear of Police. Fear of our neighbors. Fear of ourselves.
And whatever happened to running for president based on your merits and platform? Apparently all you have to have are insults and put-downs to run now. (maybe I should run, I've got that part down) These are the 2 most un-qualified, immoral, despicable people as candidates I think this Country has ever witnessed, and fortunately for us, they're both running at the same time! How lucky we are! Don't get me wrong, you still need to go vote, but vote for my dog Chico instead of one of these Bozos'. He could be the first Mexican American President! He has impeccable qualifications. He's fat. He's lazy. The only thing he'll chase is a bag of dog-food. He's friendly. Plus, he's smarter than either of the 2 running! (and he's possibly the dumbest dog I've ever seen!)
I just watched a video that disgusted me. I mean, actually I watched 2 videos that disgusted me, but this one isn't about the giant zit popping. It's about all the political proponents of one side of our 2-sided political system getting the crap beat out of them when they attend a rally in favor of their candidate. Okay, I'll stop with the political correctness, that was about all I had in me anyway.
The video I watched was about Donald Trump supporters getting hit, spit on, sprayed with pepper spray, and their cars getting destroyed. Seriously. Just for putting their confidence and faith in somebody that probably doesn't deserve it anyway. Whatever happened to peaceful protests? Meaningful discourse? Respectful debate? Somebodys opinion is different than your own, so instead of listening to what they have to say, or just walking away and ignoring them, you throw things at them? Blind-side punch them? Ridiculous.
I also like how in almost every instance on this clip, the people doing the attacking had their faces covered. So, not only are they bullies and whiney asses, they're cowards! And it's never in a one-on-one setting. It's always with a mob of people behind them. Just a wild-assed guess here, but I bet they have to have the mob with them because they get winded when they have to pick up their cell phone. They always look like a bunch of panty-waste little dorks anyway.
Now, don't get me wrong, I don't think EITHER candidate deserves your vote this election. In my lifetime, I have never witnessed the level of depravity that has been reached during this election cycle. The entire Country has gone to hell, and nobody seems to want to do a damn thing about it. If I was a candidate, and I heard reports about supporters of mine doing cowardly acts such as this, I would make some kind of announcement asking my supporters to act like human beings, not a pack of coyotes. Doesn't mean it's going to stop it, but by not speaking out, you're condoning it.
For that matter, where is our President? Shouldn't he be on the airwaves every night telling the American populace that they are a bunch of entitled little dirt bags for acting in such a manner? Where has he been on the violence against police officers? The violence BY police officers? Just my opinion here, but I believe the current administration has set race relations back 40 years or more in this Country. He has done nothing to calm the huddled masses. Instead, by doing nothing, he has invoked fear. Fear of
And whatever happened to running for president based on your merits and platform? Apparently all you have to have are insults and put-downs to run now. (maybe I should run, I've got that part down) These are the 2 most un-qualified, immoral, despicable people as candidates I think this Country has ever witnessed, and fortunately for us, they're both running at the same time! How lucky we are! Don't get me wrong, you still need to go vote, but vote for my dog Chico instead of one of these Bozos'. He could be the first Mexican American President! He has impeccable qualifications. He's fat. He's lazy. The only thing he'll chase is a bag of dog-food. He's friendly. Plus, he's smarter than either of the 2 running! (and he's possibly the dumbest dog I've ever seen!)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)