Wednesday, January 16, 2013

This ought to piss some people off!

Well, they're at it again! Our dear friends in Washington want to ban assault weapons. My only real question about it is, what's an assault weapon? Wouldn't the literal definition be "a weapon used in assault"? If that's the case, there are a lot of things that need to be banned!

There are a bunch of people out there who have never held a gun in their lives, who are surrounded by police (who are armed), secret service agents (who are armed) and military people (who are armed) who believe the path to public safety is to take away the weapons from law abiding citizens. Bet they're pretty damn glad to have all the armed people around them when they go out in public!

Apparently these are "good" guns. As opposed to "bad" guns. It's like hitting a bad shot on the tee box on #4 and blaming it on your driver! "Damn driver is screwed up! We need to ban all drivers that have an orange head! All the rest of them are good, but the ones with the orange heads are bad!" Silliest damn argument I've ever heard.

For all you dim-wits out there who think passing more laws is the answer, YOU'RE FREAKING MORONS! I can just see the lines of people waiting to turn in their guns once they're banned. There's a little old lady with an AR-15 who likes to target shoot, and right behind her is a guy with a 20 year long criminal record wanting to turn in the Glock he "acquired". He just wants to do the right thing! "The Police told me I couldn't have this no more, so I'm here to turn it in!" Yea right!

Fact is, you can pass all the laws you want to, the guys who use guns to rob people, kill people, threaten people, etc., AREN'T going to turn them in! If you think they are, you're delusional! The only difference will be that the "law abiding" portion of the country won't be able to defend themselves!

And why "assault weapons"? Is it because they look scary? Compare the size of the ammunition for an AR-15 to a 30-06 for example. The AR-15 ammo is about 1/2 the size! Is it because it's a semi-automatic capable of firing several rounds without re-loading? I own a semi-automatic 30-06, with a 5 shot magazine. What's the difference between the two? One looks black and scary, the other looks like a hunting rifle! I thought we weren't supposed to judge based on looks!How about a 12 gauge shotgun with buck-shot? Again, I happen to own a semi-automatic capable of holding 5 shells. It's not black, so does that make it different from the AR?

I know all of the gun-ban talk is based on the tragedy in Connecticut, but our government has a very long history of "knee-jerk" reactions when these types of things occur. You can't change society, laws, morals or anything else based on the actions of one demented jerk-wad. I would also like for someone to explain to me how new gun-laws would have prevented that tragedy from happening. He took the weapons from his mom, who (I'm assuming) acquired them legally. I guess he just couldn't read the sign at the school that said "this is a gun-free zone".

Bad guys are always going to exist. I don't care what laws you pass, they are always going to be able to get their hands on a gun. Buy a gun, learn to use it, and when the bad-guy with the gun shows up to rob you, or pull off some mass killing, shoot him in the head! That's the ONLY way to stop them from doing bad things with guns!